Hello world!

Hi everyone, this blog is devoted to my passion: pre-modern economic history. That is the history of economic events, trends and actors that took place roughly after 1000 CE and before the Industrial Revolution. I’m starting this blog of course because it is my pleasure to do so; but also because when I was a post-graduate and I needed to finish an essay over night I had no ways to find trustful information that I could use quickly.

This is precisely what this blog is intended for: provide detailed analysis of as many subjects as possible in a way that would make both a quick reading (less than 1500 words) and a detailed one. I will try to expose both article and books from the classic stars of the discipline as well as less know ones so as to allow a touch of originality in a presentation.

More broadly, I always thought it was unfortunate for every one that at the end of every year, the knowledge that had been accumulated by the students was lost. This forces the professors to do every year the same course. If every year students could leave college after having improved the amount of knowledge available, it would be fantastic. The same goes for a professor who retires, changes university or dies, his personal input pretty much leaves with him, lost for the next generations of students.

This blog is my small contribution to change that as well as – hopefully – reaching amateurs who have been so far put off or intimidated by academic writings. In order to preserve the objectivity of the books and articles presented, I will only share my comments in dedicated sections and posts, at one point I also will share my own researches. To enrich this blog I will also try to get original studies from friends at the university and maybe some interviews of economic historians. Maybe a bit later a podcast if the blog works well. All the notes posted on this blog will be gradually copied on the forum Clio which I invite you to visit.

Finally, I hope to present as often as possible articles published in French, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese so as to give access to them to the widest audience as possible. All too often students are limited to the English and American historiographies. Not only does it look nice in an essay to quote articles published in foreign languages, but some of them are actually important for the debate. For instance the Annales school is very often criticized by modern anglo-saxon historians, having access to the texts of Marc Bloch, Fernand Braudel and Emmanuel Le Roy Ladurie is certainly the best way for students and amateurs to make up their minds by themselves.

Good speed

B

One Response to Hello world!

  1. Hugo Estrada says:

    Hello :) I finally caught your blog in your signature. I will see if I can follow the topic that you are writing about :)

Leave a Reply

